Our university

KU Leuven

Six centuries of history.

From Renaissance philosophy to cutting-edge nanotechnology: as one of Europe’s oldest universities, KU Leuven boasts a long tradition of ground-breaking research and high-quality education.

Organizing departments and divisions

The master of Science in Sustainable Development is organized by the Division of Geography and Tourism (Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences) and the Division Ecology, Evolution and Biodiversity Conservation (Department of Biology).

Both Divisions are part of the KU Leuven Faculty of Sciences and Science, Engineering and Technology group. More information on the different divisions and departments can be found here


Living in Leuven

The city of Leuven is an agglomeration of five communities: Leuven, Heverlee, Kessel-Lo, Wilsele and Wijgmaal. Leuven has approximately 90,000 inhabitants.